The Presidents of the six CIESM scientific committees work closely with the Director General and with each other on strategic planning, on consolidating the scientific cooperation between marine researchers on both shores, in developing an active network, in strengthening interdisciplinarity, and in leading CIESM research Workshops. For the period 2016- 2019, the Committee Chairs elected by secret ballot during the Kiel Congress are:
   C1 - Marine Geosciences  

Dr Silvia Ceramicola
OGS, Trieste, Italy


   C2 - Physics and Climate of the Ocean  

Dr Toste Tanhua

GEOMAR, Kiel, Germany


   C3 - Marine Biogeochemistry  

Dr Franšois Galgani
Ifremer, France
   C4 - Marine Microbiology and Biotechnology  

Dr Frank Oliver Gl÷ckner
Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany
   C5 - Living Resources and Marine Ecosystems  
co-Chair, for Zone A (west): Dr Salud Deudero
IEO, Palma de Mallorca, Spain
co-Chair, for Zone B (east): Dr Nataliya Milchakova
Kovalevsky Institute of Marine Biological Research of RAS, Sevastopol, Russian Federation
co-Chair, for Zone C (south): Dr Jamila Ben Souissi
INAT, Tunis, Tunisia
   C6 - Coastal Systems and Marine Policies  

Dr Ernesto Azzuro
Institute for Environmental Protection and Research, Rome, Italy