CIESM is served by a number of instances represented in the schematic diagram below:

    Science Council
(Sc. Chairs + DG)


This is the formal decision-making body of the Commission.  Brings together once a year  the National Delegates of 23 Member States. Chaired by CIESM President (now Monaco, in the person of Prince Albert II), assisted by the Director General.

  Advisory Board

Advises on the strategic orientations of the Commission.
Composed of the President, the Director General and seven National Representatives: four permanent seats allocated to full Member States in Class E (France, Monaco, Russian Federation, Spain) plus three seats elected by the Board at each Congress for a period of three years (currently Germany, Portugal, Turkey).

Is appointed by, and is accountable to, the Board to lead the overall work of the Commission. Pays particular attention to the coordination of all scientific issues and to the development of international cooperation. The post is held by Dr. Laura Giuliano.

Composed of the chairs of the six scientific committees who are elected by Congress participants for a three-year mandate to deliver independent, expert advice, away from political pressure, on the scientific priorities of the Commission. The Council is presided by the Director General.

  Program / Coordinators

Five programs, each headed by a coordinator, monitor the changes or trends in critical parameters across the whole Mediterranean Basin.  They include at the moment Hydrochanges, JellyWatch, Mediterranean Exotic Species, Migratory Seabirds, Sharks & Rays.